Fiat TC Fast Road engine-a few questions.

Competition engines and 'live' projects only. Good photos to illustrate your post are expected.
Piotrek125p

Fiat TC Fast Road engine-a few questions.

Post by Piotrek125p »

Hello.
I'm looking for info about Fiat TC Fast Road engines. I have a few questions to GC. The first one is about inlet port diameter. On this chart download/file.php?id=1123 I see that 36-35 port with 43.5mm (?) is the best choice for Fast Road engines. Am I right? The second question is about the valve seat prep. On this chart download/file.php?id=997 I see that the best are seats like Test 5. Does the seat prep depend on engine final output and torque curve that I want to achieve and I can prep my seats like Test 5 seats? The last question is about the valve shape. Can I apply a 'tulip' valve if I building a road engine, not a competition engine ? Maybe these are silly questions but please forgive me, I'm a rookie engine builder ;)
Thanks for your advice.
GC approved
Guy Croft
Site Admin

Re: Fiat TC Fast Road engine-a few questions.

Post by Guy Croft »

Piotr

give me details of your engine type and setup WITH PHOTOS* and I will tell you exactly how to prep the head.

Give me an idea of the equipment you will use with the engine - carbs, cams, exhaust etc

G

* this is sort-of mandatory in GC Q&A for interest reasons (for readers)
Guy Croft, owner
Piotrek125p

Post by Piotrek125p »

I haven't any photos of my engine, today I stripped it and inspected. If I must show a photos of my engine I will do that, but it's only an old engine that needs repair, nothing interesting at that moment. I haven't yet a full setup, now I'm looking for it. At this moment I have:
-Fiat TC 2.0L engine
-new 1800 GLS piston who aprox CR to 9,6:1-(of course it's has a good oversize)
-2xWeber 44 IDF, but I haven't a manifold for it yet.
-standard inlet cam from 132 2000 and standard ex cam from Argenta