Under Performing 128

Competition engines and 'live' projects only. Good photos to illustrate your post are expected.
Andy128

Under Performing 128

Post by Andy128 »

Hi Guy,
I have a 128 circuit car that I have been putting a little time and effort into, Whilst I am pleased with the progress I have been making with the car I feel there is something not quite right with the engine. I was hoping for a better result on the dyno with the setup I have.

I am trying to make the most of what the car came with when I brought it, before I get carried away changing things.
Not being an expert I could quite easily head of in the wrong direction and wast time and money.

I will try to give you as much information as I can. Can you please have a look and let me know what you think.

DSC01423.JPG
DSC01423.JPG (57.55 KiB) Viewed 6243 times
The engine has the following setup

1500 Strada Bottom end (Std as far as I can tell)
Std Flat top pistons
Lightened Flywheel

Cylinder head
Originally 1100 or 1300 I think it has the 12mm head bolt holes
Exhaught Valves 31mm
Inlet Valves 40mm
The head has been extensively ported, Unfortunitly I did not measure the size of the ports before I but it back togeather but I can tell you that I had to enlarge a Tipo inlet/ex gasket by 5mm on the inlet ports and match port on the ex port.
Most of the material has been removed from the top of the ports as they flow around the corner before the valve seat.

Double valve springs (Unknown origin.)
DSC01352.JPG
DSC01352.JPG (58.69 KiB) Viewed 6243 times
DSC01350.JPG
DSC01350.JPG (59.44 KiB) Viewed 6244 times
DSC01345.JPG
DSC01345.JPG (57.01 KiB) Viewed 6244 times

I have cc ed the head and block and found the Compression ratio to by 10.5/1

As for the valve seat all I have done here was to give them a lap in, they all ended up with a land about 1.5mm wide. Unsure of angles I left well enough alone until I learn more.