Peugeot 205 GTI 8v track/sprint car

Post pics of your car in here
smckeown

Peugeot 205 GTI 8v track/sprint car

Post by smckeown »

Here is my blog of my route to perfection. I have copied al lthe recent additions from another forum..in the future i'll update this thread as per the other forums. It would be great to get advice/comments from a different community. I'm no expert, learning all the time, and appreciate constructive feedback..

I have provided a background to the car itself and latest engine build previously on this site, here's the link

mid dec/07:

I picked up the car from des-developments friday night and the following has been done recently:

1 - Trumpets fabricated to accept injectors (going 8 injectors very soon)
2 - New airbox for better increased space at front of car, with side feed
3 - Minor Oil leak sorted
4 - Fit new OE fuel pump - new pump delivers much more fuel as a result..worth knowing for other peeps!
5 - Exhaust tested to get to the bottom of the mysterious mid range torque dips - outcome was Des-d Group n (v2) system performs better that peugeot sport and standard system, and is not the cause of the dips.

The exhaust manifold was then highlighted as the only possible reason for the dips. Several long telephone conversations with longmans and ab motorsport led to some interesting information regarding the longmans/maniflow manifolds, turns out there is 3 systems on offer:

1 - road car oriented with crude length primaries (the one I currently have) - apprently only good for 160 bhp according to ab motorsport, but with a race cam i've seen 204 bhp on my car. Costs roughly £200
2 - track/rally oriented version with semi equal headers. Costs roughly £270
3 - race oriented version, not off the shelf version, equal length headers and design optimised by longmans on the dyno. Only available directly from longmans and costs £460. So i ordered on of these before xmas, expect it to arrive mid jan.