porting a BMC A-series 12G202 (Mini, Sprite etc) & dyno

Competition engines and ancillaries - general discussion
SirYun

porting a BMC A-series 12G202 (Mini, Sprite etc) & dyno

Post by SirYun »

Hi.

Guy asked to post some pictures of what I was working on in another topic. Rather than veering further off course I started a new topic. Well here goes.

This is my first time porting what is known as an a-series closed chamber head (I normally work on big bore heads for 1275cc engines) instead of 850cc/998cc/1098cc heads. Much of what I have done so far is described by David Vizard in "tuning the a-series engine" but there are quite a few points that are only described in outline.

The GC-VW features a very similar head btw.

This type of head was used on the cooper 997 and 1098 engines and has slightly bigger valves (still tiny) and a 'squarish' intake runner for the siamesed intake ports. It will get a slightly oversize plasma treated stainless intake valve (same price as the stock ones).

Valve job and bowl:
20/45/70 with a 1.6mm seat which is a tad on the wide side but I prefer seat life and a bit more flow at low valve lift to outright flow.
Guided by many people in the know (Guy and many others) I try to keep the seat angles as discrete and sharp as possible. Which is easier said that done.
Valve back cut to contact face at 30 degrees.

Bowl is blended to the back cut at the long side. SSR goes up pretty much straight with only a fraction of the down cut remaining.

The port is biased (it leans in a bit) toward the cylinder center and I try to keep the sides pretty much flat

The chamber

The closed chamber head has a very deep and distinctive shape to the chamber.

This presents a few problems:

The shape causes quite a bit of shrouding of the valve one if temped to grind away generously to provide ample breathing space.

However, chamber volume is rather large and thus you need to be careful not to cut huge amounts away.