Cam comparison: Pittatore 87&201 and Fiat orig - Measured

Competition engines and ancillaries - general discussion
emil

Cam comparison: Pittatore 87&201 and Fiat orig - Measured

Post by emil »

Hello Guy and others,
I have been looking to buy a set of high lift/large lift integral cams for the 1800cc TC engine I'm planning to build.

I currently have a Pittatore type 87 inlet cam and a 1608 exh cam on the 2L engine I have been running for the last 5 yrs. I was offered a set of Alquati/Pittatore type 201 (also referred to as A25/2) but since I couldn't find much data on them (see my thread viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1748&p=9157#p9157) I decided to measure them myself.
I also have a number of different original Fiat camshafts and decided to measure them as well while I was at it. I was very surprised to find that the 1608, '79 US 2L 131 and 2L 132/Argenta all had IDENTICAL lift profiles. Especially since the 1608-profile is considered by many to be one of the strongest original profiles and the US 2L 131-engine has the worst specific power in modern time. Just goes to show the importance of cam timing I guess.

In the following attachments you will find a graphs showing all measured profiles, as well as graphs showing the two Pittatore profiles and the three original profiles (zoomed to show the minimal difference).
I found the 201 profile to be quite 'strong' in my opinion. Especially the ramps differ in a significant way when comparing to the 87 or original profiles. Does any other forum member (or Guy) have any comments? I am also interested in getting opinions re. valve clearance when running the 201 profile. It seems to me that I should run with very little clearance on this profile (maybe as little as 0,25-0,3mm?) since the ramp is so short. Any comments on this, please?