BMC Mini race engine & the car it fits

Post pics of your car in here
SirYun

BMC Mini race engine & the car it fits

Post by SirYun »

hi all,

unlike most of you i don't drive a TC powered car ..

i drive a mini..well i drive a opel corsa now 'cause the mini is in parts due to the ever present progessive mass reduction system (aka rust). but it will rise again and then i will try to make it go really fast.

the mini in the pics is not mine but a car I work on from a friend who has even less time than me..and me ands a buddy have been doing the assembly of the car as well as the engine work.

i'm not an engineer (I'm a doc/MD) but study engine design and modification as a relief from work.

as a mini is powered by an engine that is asthmatic and full of design quirks ( 5 ports ..what the heck where they thinking) head modifications comprise of hacking away rather large amounts of cast iron in some parts. sadly theory does not really apply to 5 port heads and the big yellow vizard book is well over 20 years old now so as far as further progesssion goes i'm either building my own flow bench and start developing myself
or going 8 port ( BMW k 100 motorcycle heads can be made to fit, still it feels like cheating..but i have succumbed i have a 16v head on the shelf)

so far i have helped to build a few engines of which I did mostly head mods for most and fully drybuild and build one with a buddy. pictured below. 1310 cc swiftune racing sw5 road cam (255 isch timing), 1.5 ratio rockers, vernier adjustable belt cam drive system, stainless exhaust manifold,alloy inlet, CalverST rampipe and ITG filter.. oh and a 35.7x 29mm modified head i cut myself and gives a 10.3 CR.
judging from a very similar build with a less worked on head this one should produce around 90 to 95 BHP

the target that has to be beaten: this is the first dynoplot from a very similar, using a head that was made using one of my heads as a template but with less neurosis involved :wink:.