DIY 2.0 TC engine step-by-step rebuild with GC

Road-race engines and ancillaries - general discussion
Alan

DIY 2.0 TC engine step-by-step rebuild with GC

Post by Alan »

Hi all, newbie here and my first post.

I am currently restoring a 131 Sport, the shell is completely resprayed and a fair amount put back together. (Will post some photos at some stage).
Some years ago I bought a twin cam engine from a Ritmo 130TC rally car.
The engine was built by a company in England (not GC). I have no idea what's inside but I was told by those who worked on the car that it was a very well built engine, and was built from new.
I have read a post about starting an engine after rebuild but I'm unsure what do here.
My plan is to change the belts and turn over the engine by hand, with the spark plugs removed.
If all seems ok, then spin the engine in the same manner with the starter and progress from there.
Is this wise?
Do you recommend leaving the engine intact or should I at least remove the head?
The engine is currently fitted with twin Webbers (45?) and has not run for at least 10 years I believe.
The engine has been stored in my garage with the carbs fitted but without an exhaust manifold.
Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated.

Alan.
Guy Croft
Site Admin

Post by Guy Croft »

Alan, hi

starting an engine that has been sat for a long period is like starting a new one so read:

http://guy-croft.com/viewtopic.php?t=78

However, having seen more of these than most ('It's been stored for years..) I would caution you not to start it at all but to carry out several tasks first:

1. Replace all engine seals - cams, aux d/s, crank front and rear. They will have lost some of their elasticity (vulcanised) and - having been oiled up - collected dust and debris, oil leaks will follow swiftly..